Just Watching Life Flash by

My question of the past while: how can life even be this stressful?

I’ve been wrapped up in school, band, church, college applications, and other senior-y things in the past few months.  Basically, life doesn’t stop for this blonde miss.  I’m applying to over 10 colleges (five of which are in England), and I am not even close to being ready for the deadlines.  My first one is in just a few days, October 15.

We’re reading 1984 by George Orwell in my AP Literature class.  I’ve read the book before, years and years ago, but I don’t really remember it at all, so it’s been interesting to re-discover it. The first time I read it, I was probably about 12 or 13, and so I didn’t get a lot of the undercurrent stuff.  I really just remember wondering what on earth was going on most of the time.  But now, all I really want to do is discuss it!  There’s so much depth in the book that I haven’t gotten a chance to talk about yet *nerd moment.*

Like the fact that Orwell used alliterations on basically every single page?  Or that all of the characters seem to be intentionally unappealing?  Or maybe that everything is described as rather colorless, except posters of Big Brother and Winston’s coral paperweight? Or what about the fact that whenever a new person is introduced, Orwell compares them to some sort of animal/insect?

Basically, I’m really enjoying a book that I practically hated the first time around.  I guess I just wasn’t really mature to understand it.

Like just looking at the hidden things in this cover, there is so much to discuss! Like the print hidden behind the whole thing?  And the floral pattern on the left side of the eye?  Also, the red coloring connects the book to communism, even though the government in the story is never actually described as “communist.”1984Anyway, I really just think that it’s a cool book.  Does anyone else have any opinions on 1984?

Thanks for reading!  I’ll try to post soon!

Claire Marie

 

Leave a Reply

