An apology for a dream

By this point in my blogging career, most of you will have realized that I do not post on this dear little site quite as often as I should.  It is intensely difficult for me to sit down and post as often as I do (about once a month).   While I enjoy writing for my blog, I never seem to have the proper thing to say.  Surely others aren’t interested in the trivial things that I have to say!  But for those few who are interested; I sincerely apologize for not posting very frequently.  I could say that I will try to get better, but I know very well that I won’t.  So, basically, I am sorry for being such a bad blogger, but at the same time, I’m not going to do anything to change it.  Stubborn, eh?

And now, I have a completely random topic to chat about.

Last night, I had a strange dream.  Probably one of the strangest dreams I’ve had in well over a year.  And one of the longest.  At any rate, it started me thinking about dreams in general.  Now, I’m aware that the whole science-relm of dreams is sort of dark, shadowy, and vague.  But that doesn’t make it any less interesting.  Indeed, for me, it does quite the opposite.    Interpreting a dream, running it over and over through my mind, is almost as much fun as having the dream itself (ignoring, of course, the fact that some dreams aren’t any fun at all).

My dream from last night was so incredibly long and convoluted that I’m sure it has many different meanings.  Some of them were obvious to me.  Other bits and themes of my dream require a bit more thought.  So, for a little bit of dream-advice, I looked to my handy-dandy, pocket-sized, Fortune-Telling Book of Dreams book.

Fortune-Telling Book of Dreams

Unfortunately, my Book of Dreams wasn’t quite as enlightening as I could have hoped.  In fact, to put it bluntly, it was quite disappointing.  As I have experienced similar feelings of disappointment when referencing this book in the past,  I decided to move onto a more illuminating source.  After a quick search on Google, I found dreammoods.com, a website apparently dedicated to helping others interpret their dreams.  Although the amount of ads on the website made me question the accuracy of the information that it held, there was one section of the website that I enjoyed.  I will attach the link here (hopefully it works!): Dream Moods: Common Dreams: Chase Dreams.

A section of my dream did involve me being chased.  Although it had all of the classic elements (hiding, running, etc.) there were also some unexpected twists.  I can’t remember every detail, but I do distinctly recall there being a small child in my care.  That alone doesn’t make much sense, because there are really no children in my life at the moment.  I haven’t even babysat recently.  Though I love kids, the caretaking of this child gave my dream-self nothing but stress.  I myself was being hunted, and for some strange reason, it was my duty to save this unknown child as well.  She appeared in no other parts of my extensive dream, but while she was there, she affected me quite a bit.

I don’t really want to share too much more of my very odd dream–they’re quite personal things after all.  But I’m still interested in them!  If anyone has any comments, ideas, or further information, please do not hesitate to share!

Once more, thank you for dealing with my inconsistent postings.

Claire Marie

Oh, by the way, my school will be starting up again on the 20th.  Not really sure how that will impact my blogging capabilities, but I just wanted to throw that out there.  Goodnight!

 

Leave a Reply

