Love

Love–a word defined in many different ways at different times, a word that, indeed, has recently wandered along my trail of thought fairly often.  As far as I know, humans have always been fascinated by love.  And rightly so.  It is a fascinating thing.  According to the Merriam-Webster dictionary, love is defined as;

(1) : strong affection for another arising out of kinship or personal ties <maternal love for a child> (2) : attraction based on sexual desire : affection and tenderness felt bylovers (3) : affection based on admiration, benevolence, or common interests <love for his old schoolmates>b : an assurance of affection <give her my love>  2: warm attachment, enthusiasm, or devotion <love of the sea>  3: a : the object of attachment, devotion, or admiration<baseball was his first love> (1) : a beloved person : darling —often used as a term of endearment (2) British —used as an informal term of address  4: a : unselfish loyal and benevolent concern for the good of another: as (1) : the fatherly concern of God for humankind(2) : brotherly concern for others

I recently read a book called Love Story by Erich Segal.  The copy that I got ahold of was from the public library, and didn’t give an exact publication date, but it was copyrighted in 1970.  This short, sweet, sad little book began with the question, “What can you say about a twenty-five-year-old girl who died?”  The story itself is a journey.  Two college kids, Jennifer Cavilleri and Oliver Barrett IV, meet, fall in love, the whole bit.  I honestly don’t want to give the library their book back; the story was that wonderful.  Of course, from the very beginning, I knew that the story wouldn’t end happily, but I still cried quite a bit when I got to the end.  I think the part that I loved the most about the book wasn’t the fact that Jennifer and Oliver’s relationship worked, but the fact that the whole story felt real.  There was no over dramatization, no beautifully painted scenes, it was just real.  Real in the late 60s, sense (as in, no sex scenes), but still.  It didn’t feel like I was reading a fictional tale of two imaginary people.  It felt like I was looking into someone else’s life.  Even though it took place over 40 years ago,  it still felt realistically real. 

This is a quote from Love Story.  Although a short sentence, it says quite a lot.

This is a quote from Love Story. Although a short sentence, it says quite a lot.

I love the quote that I found above.  I think from this quote, Mr. Segal was trying to show his readers how incredibly powerful love can be.  Although I think that apologizing for your wrongs is never a bad idea, I see Segal’s point.  (In my opinion,) He was saying that if someone really, truly loves you, it won’t really matter what you do.  They’ll continue to love you through all of your mistakes and screw-ups.

Anyway, I brought together the definition of love, and a story of it, to try and show how different love can be.  Oliver and Jennifer were never very romantic, but their love for each other was obvious despite that.  Love takes many forms, and one’s definition of love would probably change slightly every time they defined it, depending on who they were thinking about.  Usually, when we think of love, we think of romance.  But I’m here to remind you that love can take many forms, some of which you may not realize until much later.  Now, you may be wondering why I, a sixteen-year-old novice, when it comes to love, is discussing it with such a knowledgeable air.  Honestly, I don’t really know.  But hey, I combined reading with a somewhat legitimate blog post.  Yay!

One last idea on love.  Taylor Swift’s song and music video, Love Story.  I’m sure many of you have seen it already, but I wanted to attach the link, just in case.   I like the idea of the song, because it’s a Romeo and Juliet story that actually ends happily.

That’s all for today.  I hope you’re all enjoying your summer.

Claire Marie

Leave a Reply

