Once Again, Time…

It’s crazy how much can change in a day.  A few hours, even.  Those poor people in Moore, Oklahoma (just a 40 minute drive away from me!) probably didn’t expect their houses to be blown apart by a tornado.  And yet, with only about a fifteen minute warning, their lives were changed forever.  In some cases, their lives were just…ended.  Scary to think about.

I don’t think I would know what to do, if I knew I only had fifteen minutes to live.  Of course, those people that died didn’t necessarily know that their lives were going to be snuffed out like a candle, but even so.  It makes me wonder about what I would do. Try to help others? Eat chocolate (sadly enough, actually a viable option)?  Pray? Confess the deepest secrets of my heart?  I don’t know.  It’s not really something that you can plan.  Not that I’m not trying.  I wish I would have the goodness to be selfless, but I just don’t know if I’m that good of a person.  I’d probably just steal away in some hole and cry.  Unless that was what everyone else was doing, and so all of the local holes were taken.  Then I’d probably climb a tree and cry.  Or maybe I’d pray.  Go to church, and repent my sins.  Pray for mercy, for peace, for everyone out there.  Gracious.  I just don’t know.

Meanwhile, a very short period of time can change so many things.  Opinions, relationships, lives…  A lot can be done in a day.  Some may say too much.   Would you abandon that dog on the side of the road if you knew that the next day, someone would abandon you?  Break your promises, if mere hours later, they would break you?  Cross that road, if you knew that seconds later, a car would come hurtling by?  Try to be mature, if later, it would make you weep for what you lost?

We only have a limited amount of time on this earth.  And yet, people still tend to spend it in negative ways.  People don’t think about the consequences of their actions.

Why  not spend your time being nice?

Claire Marie

2 thoughts on “Once Again, Time…

Leave a Reply

