Blabbering

I’m afraid I must apologize for my almost month-long hiatus. I don’t really have a reason, other than that I got caught up with school, AP tests, the ACT, and the like. So, I am quite sorry, and I promise that I’ll try much harder to be more consistent with my postings from here on out.

On the other hand, I am glad to say that I have been keeping busy with my novel-writing. Recently, I’ve been rather stuck on a fairly tricky scene. I don’t want to go into too deep of details, but let’s just say that it’s awfully hard to correctly depict a drunk person when you’ve never met one. Overall though, I am enjoying every moment of the writing process. Even though I’m more than well aware that my little novel will probably never see the light of day, it’s definitely a learning experience. And I can’t help but think that somewhere down the road, it will help me out (Thinking positive!). Oftentimes, I feel like a rather less talented version of Jo March, my favorite character from the fantastic classic, Little Women. Hidden up in my little writing corner, madly dashing my hopes and dreams down onto pages and pages, making stories out of memories and imaginations. Handing over my carefully written, well-loved words to some uncaring individual, tearing open my heart in preparation of disappointment. Of course, I have never done anything like Jo, who sent her things out to be published. But even so. I understand her anguish.

I must admit to being a bit of a bibliophile. The owner of the local bookstore knows me (I’m working up my courage to ask if they’re hiring for the summer), and all of my friends freely call me a bookworm. And I love it. The only thing that I wish is that I had more time to read! Sadly, silly little, unimportant things like Chemistry take precedence over fabulous books in this modern society (Who cares about Chemistry anyway?).

On the book subject, I recently read a really good book. The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley, I enjoyed every moment of it. It was the sort of book that I couldn’t put down. And when I was forced to put it down, I couldn’t stop thinking about it. I hate summaries, so I’m not going to summarize it, but it was great. Don’t read it if you don’t like romance, however. I have also read Ms. Kearsley’s other book (not sure if it’s the only other one…), The Rose Garden. I liked The Rose Garden as much as, if not more than The Winter Sea. Either way though, I would suggest reading them if you get a chance! They’re both sort of curl-up-with-a-large-mug-of-cocoa books.

I would love to blabber on for 465 more words, but, sadly, I think my very few readers would get bored with me.

So, dear, dear, readers, enjoy your weekend! I’ll make sure to report back in again by Tuesday!

Claire Marie

Leave a Reply

