Fear? Flight? Poems

Yesterday, in the middle of class, this thought just sort of came to me. Don’t worry, dear teachers, we weren’t actually working.  I had been reading, but then this torrent of words (a whole lot of just sort of random sentences came before this) poured out of me.  I was writing so quickly, I hadn’t though it possible. I don’t know if it even makes sense, but I thought I’d throw it out here, just in case.  I don’t really know what to say about it, or even really what to call it.  I’m horrible with titles.  Anyway, I’ll just leave you to the poem-thing.

Aren’t we all afraid to fly?

We dream, we hope, we wish,

Yet we’re too afraid to act.  To do.

In our fear of flight, 

If we let it overcome our wishes, 

We let go of the magic of life.

We ourselves banish the wonder that could be.

Is the risk of feeling so great, 

That we refuse to take a step on the clouds?

We all yearn for the magic of flight,

And yet we push it away.

So who is there to blame but ourselves

For this world that contains no wonder?

I only read over this twice–once to type it, and once just now.  So if it was horrible, that probably has something to do with it.

I’m thinking I’ll do another post tomorrow.

Tell me what you thought about the poem!

Claire Marie

Leave a Reply

