That Second Dive

For one who doesn’t (can’t) swim, I sure seem to take a lot of dives (not literally, of course).  My first literary dive this year was to start this blog.  My second is to write a novel.  Yes, you read that correctly.  I’m going to write a novel.  If you don’t feel like I can do it, that’s okay.  I don’t really think I can either.  But I’m trying.  And I’m super excited.  Thus far, it is one of the most fun things that I have ever done.  Not kidding.  I am in love.  And I haven’t even really started yet.  I’m just in the very beginning stages of planning.  But it’s wonderful.  Really, I could easily sit here for an hour and type out my silly little waves of happy writer feelings that I’m probably sending out in hordes right now.  However, I highly doubt anyone wants to read ‘IAMSOHAPPYRIGHTNOW’ about a thousand times, so unfortunately, I shall have to talk about something else.

At any rate though, I am definitely doing something scary and exciting and different and sort of spontaneous.  In short, this is my form of high school rebellion.  I’m writing a book.  This is my version of going insane and doing crazy, stupid things like staying out late and drinking or skipping school or something like that.  Because I’d rather stay at school and work on my book.   Craft my people from an idea up, and give them houses and jobs and lives and friends and hobbies and nose bridges.  Attempting to write a book is probably the craziest thing I’ve ever done.  Of course, I haven’t really done anything crazy. But it’s still super exhilarating.

Maybe when I get a little farther on, I’ll share a bit of my novel (Ah! So exciting to say!), but for now, I’ll just say that my main character is Emma DeMare (I’m not quite satisfied with the spelling of DeMare yet, but this is what it is for now.).  She’s a strawberry blonde.  And I am so excited.  I need to use a different adjective for ‘excited.’

Well, I’m going to go work on family trees and other character things.  Have a wonderful Tuesday!

Claire Marie

Leave a Reply

